Psalm 119:69-72

69 The men that are puff’d up with pride
against me forg’d a lie;
Yet thy commandments observe
with my whole heart will I.
70 Their hearts, through worldly ease and wealth,
as fat as grease they be:
But in thy holy law I take
delight continually.

71 It hath been very good for me
that I afflicted was,
That I might well instructed be,
and learn thy holy laws.
72 The word that cometh from thy mouth
is better unto me
Than many thousands and great sums
of gold and silver be.

–Scottish Psalter, 1650

Leave a Reply

