Great Sinners Need a Great Savior

While doing some preparatory work for this coming Sunday’s message from John 1:3-5, I was reminded of some of John Newton’s last words before his death:

My memory is nearly gone, but I remember two things — that I am a great sinner, and that Christ is a great Savior.

One of the hymns that we’ll sing this coming Sunday morning will be one of  Newton’s, “How Sweet the Name of Jesus Sounds.” Here are the words; you can listen to the tune here.

How sweet the name of Jesus sounds
In a believer’s ear!
It soothes his sorrows, heals his wounds,
And drives away his fear.

It makes the wounded spirit whole,
And calms the troubled breast;
‘Tis manna to the hungry soul,
And to the weary rest.

Dear Name! the Rock on which I build,
My Shield and Hiding place,
My neverfailing Treas’ry filled
With boundless stores of grace.

Jesus! my Shepherd, Saviour, Friend,
My Prophet, Priest, and King,
My Lord, my Life, my Way, my End,
Accept the praise I bring.

Weak is the effort of my heart,
And cold my warmest thought;
But when I see Thee as Thou art,
I’ll praise Thee as I ought.

Till then I would Thy love proclaim
With ev’ry fleeting breath;
And may the music of Thy Name
Refresh my soul in death!

Author: Dan Greenfield

I am an undeserving sinner saved by God's grace through Jesus Christ, a happy husband, proud father of 6 great kids, pastor of Orwell Bible Church, Executive Secretary of the American Council of Christian Churches, and member of the Ohio Bible Fellowship .

Leave a Reply

